Nicene Creed: I believe but who am I


The Nicene Creed begins, “I believe.” This begs the question, “Who am I.” In Genesis 2:7 we are told, “Formed, the Personal Name, the Mighty Judge, the A-Dam from the dust, Epher, from the A-Dam-ah, and breathed into his nostrils, the respirations of life, the A-Dam became animate, an anima/soul of life. Except for some passages which come later, it could be translated that I, as a man becomes animate, a human being, when I breath, that is at birth. A closer reading sees something else.

The passages says that I, as a man becomes a Nephesh, an anima of life. Genesis 9:4 says, “The flesh, in its anima/soul, its blood, you will not eat.” Leviticus 17:11 repeats the idea, “The anima/soul of the flesh is in the blood; I have given it to you upon the altar to make Kippur for your anima/soul; it is the blood that makes atonement by reason of the life.” Leviticus 19:26 also talks about this equating of blood with anima/life/soul. The animate principle is not breathing, air, but blood.

I am a man, but what is a man?
What is it that makes blood so different? Blood is the only organ of the body that is constantly in motion. It is also the only organ in the body that is constantly in contact with each and every other cell of the body. Blood is present when there are two cells, nourishing them both. I became human when I had blood, two cells. Blood, Dami is the silent voice that makes life possible for all the other organs. Blood is the nourishing principle. Blood is the principle which makes me anima/animate, vital, vibrant, vivacious, alive.

Blood is the principle in constant motion just as our faith must be in constant motion to be alive. This is what God breathes into me, A-Dam and that makes me human.

When God tells Abel in the Garden of Eden, “The blood of your brother calls to me from the ground.” The word for blood is “Dami” and can be translated as “My blood’ of your brother calls to me from the ground.” The word for ground is “A – Dam.” In Genesis 1, when it says “Let us make man in our image and in our likeness,” the word for image is “Shalom” Masculine plural, and the word for likeness is Dam-oth, Feminine plural of blood. We are then told God created man Masculine and Feminine.

I am therefore E Pluribus Unum, a mix of A-dam-ah earth, dead stuff, & the animate & nourishing principle which is blood, the image, the likeness of God, live stuff. I am a combination of both. It is not true that I have an anima/nephesh/soul in one place and my body in another. My anima/nephesh/soul touches each and every cell of my body and enlivens/makes alive, vibrant, vivacious, each and every cell of my body and makes me an animate being. I am also a mix of the masculine and feminine principles of Peace and nutrition for my neighbor. It also means that any attack on any human being for any reason is ultimately an attack upon the image of God which resides within that person. But, in relation to the Nicene Creed, I am something else.

Leave a Reply

